DJ Equipment deals     Studio Equipment Deals

Friday, 26 July 2013

Funky Friday with Freestylers and Walking Def - Free Downloads

We're having such a skank-out here at Funk and Filth's sunny London headquarters that we couldn't decide who to post about today!

In the end it was a dead heat between undeniable Funk and Filth favourites, Freestylers, and transatlantic funk-flinging trio Walking Def - both of whom have spanked out brand new, eardrum-corroding free basslines to fuel our current skank-a-thon!!

Aston and his freestylin pals have reworked the title track from their new album into a VIP mix that, in their own words, "bangs harder than Godzilla in a brothel" . . . and they ain't lying! The Coming Storm VIP Mix is pure Freestylers breakbeat magic! It's doing the trick on a sunny afternoon for sure, but we can just imagine this thing thumping out through some Funktion One monsters at 2 o'clock in the morning, somewhere grimey and full of the right sort of people! ;)

This FREE DOWNLOAD is only a taster of the badassness (yes, it's a word!) of the rest of the album, which you should definitely check out. If you're a lifelong breaks fan then you won't need us to tell you that, and if you're not, then what the hell have you been doing, download this now!

Wobbling ribcages on the other side of the pond are a trio of bassmongers known as Walking Def. Dubstep, Breaks, Electro, 140bpm jungle, these guys are ridiculously versatile, and can create bassline monsters at any tempo, which is pretty much exactly what they've done with their new four-track Love To Give EP!

Sports fans might recognise the Walking Def sound from this year's GoPro Superbowl advert, which featured their track Running All My Life as the soundtrack, as well as a baby with a camera strapped to its head and butt! Watch the video, check out the EP below and then download the monster of a FREE MIX that the WD boys have walloped together, featuring bassy beauties from Funk and Filth favourites such as Far Too Loud, Zomboy, Porter Robinson and the Walking Def guys as well of course!

The first ever Funk and Filth club night hits London this summer!
Click here or the flyer below for more details & tickets.

TRACKLIST: Walking Def - DefCast001:

1. Walking Def feat. Virus Syndicate - Let Me Show You (Midication)
2. Caspa feat. Diane Charlemagne - Reach For The Sky (Dub Police)
3. 501 - The Final Cut (Never Say Die)
4. Pyramid - Dangerous (Funkatech)
5. Millions Like Us - Departure (Inspected)
6. Walking Def - Love To Give (Midication)
7. Far Too Loud - Faster Than Light (No Tomorrow)
8. Duke Damont feat. AME - Need U 100% (Ministry Of Sound)
9. Autoerotique - Asphyxiation (Dim Mak)
10. Millions Like Us - Behind You (Inspected)
11. Taiki and Nulight - Take Me Up (Cheap Thrills)
12. Disclosure feat. Eliza Doolittle - You and Me (PMR)
13. Zomboy feat. Lady Chann - Here To Stay (Astronaut Remix) (No Tomorrow)
14. Matt Zo + Porter Robinson - Easy (Ministry Of Sound)
15. ShockOne feat. Metrik + Kyza - Lazerbeam (SKisM Remix) (Viper)
16. Habstrakt - Eat Me (Never Say Die)
17. Walking Def - Everything (Midication)
18. Rudimental feat. Angel Haze - Hell Could freeze (Skream Remix) (Black Butter)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave us a comment to let us know what you think of this post and the music . . .